Reviews

Review: Little Monsters by Kara Thomas

I am so excited that I got to read and review Little Monsters before it was released! Make sure you keep reading to see my thoughts! 9780553521498

Little Monsters
by Kara Thomas
I received an ARC copy of this book in a giveaway*                 Publication Date: July 25th, 2017
Publisher: Delacorte Books
Find it here:

g-4149554747637758

Goodreads Summary:

For fans of Pretty Little Liars, Little Monsters is a new psychological thriller, from the author of The Darkest Corners, about appearances versus reality and the power of manipulation amongst teenage girls.

Kacey is the new girl in Broken Falls. When she moved in with her father, she stepped into a brand-new life. A life with a stepbrother, a stepmother, and strangest of all, an adoring younger half sister.

Kacey’s new life is eerily charming compared with the wild highs and lows of the old one she lived with her volatile mother. And everyone is so nice in Broken Falls—she’s even been welcomed into a tight new circle of friends. Bailey and Jade invite her to do everything with them.

Which is why it’s so odd when they start acting distant. And when they don’t invite her to the biggest party of the year, it doesn’t exactly feel like an accident.

But Kacey will never be able to ask, because Bailey never makes it home from that party. Suddenly, Broken Falls doesn’t seem so welcoming after all—especially once everyone starts looking to the new girl for answers.

Kacey is about to learn some very important lessons: Sometimes appearances can be deceiving. Sometimes when you’re the new girl, you shouldn’t trust anyone.


With a tag saying that its perfect for fans of Pretty Little Liars I was immediately intrigued. I loved the PLL TV show for the first couple seasons (I haven’t had time to catch up!) so I knew I had to give this a shot! I don’t think I have ever read a mystery (maybe the Nancy Drew books when I was young but nothing in YA). I wasn’t sure if I would like it since it was so out of my usual reading range but decided to branch out and try it. I was pleasantly surprised with how much I absolutely love this book! It kept me reading all day and night and I flew through it!

Kasey was so likable from the start! She has a genuine love and concern for her family and thats just so nice to see. She came from such a broken and hard background that it made it hard for me to feel for her. She had just moved in with a father who she knew nothing about, and got a family right along with it. What I loved most about her was the ability to protect and care of herself, she wasn’t just a needy teenager.

Honestly all the other characters were just decent in my opinion. I didn’t really love or hate any of them. I was super suspicious of all of them at times! Honestly her “best friends” Bailey and Jade bugged me to no end! For some reason they seemed to be the evil villains here.

I was hooked from the first line. Kara Thomas weaves in characters and events that are just impossible to not believe! It’s like that this could happen even in my small town. I felt like I was right there with Kasey as she tried to solve this mystery! There was just layer upon layer set out right in front of me and I had no idea what to believe!

One of the things that really pulled me in was the diary entries from Bailey, it was such a nice add in! I felt even more connected to the story because I was able to get inside her head as well as Kasey’s. The entries set me even more on edge than I already was!

I think my favorite part was that I never guessed who actually was the culprit. I had guesses all throughout but never anything concrete enough to place bets on. It may be because I don’t read mysteries ever, but I believe it had a lot to do with the way that Kara Thomas set up the plot.

My biggest issue was the pacing. I felt like there were a few too many places where not a lot was happening and Kasey was just there, not doing anything. Mostly it was just before the halfway point that the slow parts drug me down, after that you couldn’t tear the book from my hands!


*Although I received this ARC in a giveaway it was not from the publisher, nor was I made to review it. It was my choice to and all opinions and thoughts are my own*

88% or 4 Stars


Have you read Little Monsters?

What were your thoughts?

Let me know below!

Leave a Reply

