Reviews

Review: Cinder by Marissa Meyer

Keep reading to see my thoughts on Cinder by Marissa Meyer!

marissa_meyer-Cinder

Cinder
by Marissa Meyer
I purchased a copy of this on my own
Publisher: Square Fish
Find it here:

g-4 149554747637758


Goodreads Summary:

Humans and androids crowd the raucous streets of New Beijing. A deadly plague ravages the population. From space, a ruthless lunar people watch, waiting to make their move. No one knows that Earth’s fate hinges on one girl.

Cinder, a gifted mechanic, is a cyborg. She’s a second-class citizen with a mysterious past, reviled by her stepmother and blamed for her stepsister’s illness. But when her life becomes intertwined with the handsome Prince Kai’s, she suddenly finds herself at the center of an intergalactic struggle, and a forbidden attraction. Caught between duty and freedom, loyalty and betrayal, she must uncover secrets about her past in order to protect her world’s future.


My first impression of this book wasn’t the best. I don’t really love the cover and I’m not the biggest fan of retellings. I recently read It Started With Goodbye by Christina June (check out my review here!) and it’s a modern retelling of Cinderella. I really loved it and decided that I made a snap judgement on retellings a while ago and I might actually like them, so I decided to give this one a shot! I kept hearing about this entire series over and over again and all the reviews I saw said it was amazing!

I started reading it with some low expectations. I was afraid it would just be a direct Cinderella retelling with the cyborg twist. I was happily surprised to find that it isn’t that at all! Its really its own story with just a bit of the Cinderella story sprinkled in!

The characters within this book are so charming and you can’t help but love them. Iko is a favorite for me, she’s a cute little robot that acts like she’s a human. Prince Kai is has some really good qualities. The evil stepmother and step sister are fine, but they did not annoy me so much as the evil Lunar Queen. Cinder is the main character and I liked her okay, but she wasn’t my favorite.

Unfortunately there were some things that I just didn’t love about Cinder. First, its just predictable and you can see everything thats coming. I know that comes from being inspired by fairy tales and it puts you in a bit of a box where certain things need to happen. Also I was incredibly disappointed by the lack of world building, considering the amazing world that has been has created. I felt like we could have learned so much more! It just seemed that there was chunks missing. It felt a bit like instalove to me as well.

Even though I had some issues with Cinder it was still a great book and I definitely plan on continuing the series!


Favorite Quote:

Even in the Future the Story Begins with Once Upon a Time.


78% or 3 Stars


Have you read Cinder?

What were your thoughts?

Let me know below!

2 thoughts on “Review: Cinder by Marissa Meyer

  1. This series is one of my all-times favorites! I definitely think the sequels get better and better, so don’t give it up on quite yet. You meet so many amazing characters and the world expands a lot! ❤️

    Like

Leave a Reply

