Reviews

Review: Everything, Everything by Nicola Yoon

Keep reading to see my thoughts on Everything, Everything by Nicola Yoon

Everything,_Everything

Everything, Everything
by Nicola Yoon
I purchased a copy of this on my own
Publisher: Delacorte Books for Young Readers
Find it here:

149567335459930 149554747637758

Goodreads Summary:

My disease is as rare as it is famous. Basically, I’m allergic to the world. I don’t leave my house, have not left my house in seventeen years. The only people I ever see are my mom and my nurse, Carla.

But then one day, a moving truck arrives next door. I look out my window, and I see him. He’s tall, lean and wearing all black—black T-shirt, black jeans, black sneakers, and a black knit cap that covers his hair completely. He catches me looking and stares at me. I stare right back. His name is Olly.

Maybe we can’t predict the future, but we can predict some things. For example, I am certainly going to fall in love with Olly. It’s almost certainly going to be a disaster.


Okay first I have to say that I love love love the cover and all the illustrations throughout the story! In my opinions it made this 10 times better. I think that the drawings really added to the story.

Nicola Yoon created characters that practically burst from the pages. You can seriously see their personalities just jumping from the page. I loved the interaction between all of the characters as well. Maddy and Olly’s email conversations are just the best! I also loved the interactions between Maddy and her nurse Carla. I just really enjoy when an author makes the characters so real.

Everything, Everything is a story that is so unique. I’ve never seen anything like it. I loved getting to know about Maddy’s disease. It’s such a refreshing and interesting story to get to learn about. One of my favorite things is the fact that Maddy is actually half African American half Japanese. I love getting to see diverse characters in novels.

While I did really enjoy Everything, Everything there were some things that did bother me. I thought it was rather unrealistic that a young teenager could get a credit card for one. For two, how many people would just book a flight and go to Hawaii with someone they don’t know very well? In my opinion it wasn’t really realistic for Maddy to be locked up for so long with just her mothers diagnosis. Another thing that really bothered me was Olly’s dad. I’m sorry but if I was in a position like Maddy was I would have called the cops or done something.

I sort of expected the ending to go the way it did but it didn’t stop me from wishing there was more to the story. I wanted to know about her life after. All in all I did really enjoy Everything, Everything and I would recommend it to someone looking for a cute Summer read.


Favorite Quote: 

“Everything’s a risk. Not doing anything is a risk. It’s up to you.”


82% or 4 Stars


Have you read Everything, Everything?

What were your thoughts?

Let me know below!

Leave a Reply

