Reviews

Review: The Boy Most Likely To by Huntley Fitzpatrick

Click here to read my thoughts about The Boy Most Likely To by Huntley Fitzpatrick

18392495

 

The Boy Most Likely To
by Huntley Fitzpatrick
I purchased a copy of this on my own
Publisher: Dial Books
PreOrder/Find it here:

google+Amazon

Goodreads Summary:

The romantic companion to My Life Next Door—great for fans of Sarah Dessen and Jenny Han. 

Tim Mason was The Boy Most Likely To find the liquor cabinet blindfolded, need a liver transplant, and drive his car into a house

Alice Garrett was The Girl Most Likely To . . . well, not date her little brother’s baggage-burdened best friend, for starters.

For Tim, it wouldn’t be smart to fall for Alice. For Alice, nothing could be scarier than falling for Tim. But Tim has never been known for making the smart choice, and Alice is starting to wonder if the “smart” choice is always the right one. When these two crash into each other, they crash hard.

Told in Tim’s and Alice’s distinctive, disarming, entirely compelling voices, this novel is for readers of The Spectacular Now, Nick and Norah’s Infinite Playlist, and Paper Towns.


I fell in love with this crazy family and characters the moment I opened the companion novel My Life Next Door. I couldn’t wait to get more of the Garrett’s family dynamic along with Tim and Samantha! You can check out my review of My Life Next Door here to see all my thoughts.

The Boy Most Likely To is actually told in duel point of views between Alice and Tim. While we see more of Tim we also get Alice’s story as well. I really loved getting to know both of them. Tim’s story is the front and center while Alice sort of takes a back seat. While it may bother some, I really didn’t mind the way we saw both perspectives I can’t help but wish we saw more of Alice. I wish that we had gotten more from Samantha and Jase but I know that this was Alice and Tim’s story.

I really love that while there is a romance, it isn’t the main objective. For Tim this was more of a coming of age story. He grows up and becomes so much better of a person throughout the story arc. While the romance can be a bit so so at times I really do enjoy Alice and Tim together. They are really great at supporting at each other when the other needs it.

I have to say my favorite thing about The Boy Most Likely To is how Tim really stepped up the the plate and became a dad, he doesn’t just brush off his responsibility to Cal. Can I also say that I absolutely despise Hester? Is anyone else with me? I think I felt more of a connection with Cal than she did! I also have to say I really want Cal to be his. Tim is a recovering alcoholic and I truly believe that Huntley Fitzpatrick did an amazing job of portraying Tim in a realistic way.

Alice’s story gets a little muddled by the glaring disaster that is Tim but she also is going through a tough time as well. Alice is basically taking care of her 7, almost 8, brothers and sisters. Her father was in an extremely terrible at the end of My Life Next Door and he is still recovering from it. Alice is taking care of the Hardware store and the bills that comes along with it. Her story arc is basically about her caring for and being set free of her family.

The family aspect was my favorite part of The Boy Most Likely ToWe learned more and  more about the Garrett’s in this novel. I honestly wish I had a family like them.

The more I read from Huntley Fitzpatrick the more I fall in love with her writing. I seriously will always need more books from her!


94% or 4.75 stars


Favorite Quote:

“It’s not rocket science, Nan. You show someone they matter to you—do whatever it takes to show that.”


Have you read The Boy Most Likely To?

What were your thoughts?

Let me know below!

 

One thought on “Review: The Boy Most Likely To by Huntley Fitzpatrick

Leave a Reply

