Reviews

It Started With Goodbye by Christina June

Click here to read about my thoughts on It Started With Goodbye by Christina June

27830287

 

It Started With Goodbye
by Christina June
I received a copy of this from NetGalley*
Publication Date: May 9th
Publisher: Blink/HarperCollins
PreOrder/Find It Started With Goodbye here:

google+Amazon

Goodreads Summary:

Sixteen-year-old Tatum Elsea is bracing for the worst summer of her life. After being falsely accused of a crime, she’s stuck under stepmother-imposed house arrest and her BFF’s gone ghost. Tatum fills her newfound free time with community service by day and working at her covert graphic design business at night (which includes trading emails with a cute cello-playing client). When Tatum discovers she’s not the only one in the house keeping secrets, she finds she has the chance to make amends with her family and friends. Equipped with a new perspective, and assisted by her feisty step-abuela-slash-fairy-godmother, Tatum is ready to start fresh and maybe even get her happy ending along the way.


A modern play on the Cinderella, It Started With Goodbye shows us that sometimes going after what you want means breaking the rules. I was easily sucked into this book because the characters felt so real. They had real world issues and made real world decisions.

For this to be Christina Junes debut novel astonishes me! She did an amazing job with the character and the story! I really enjoy the way she writes and how she tells the story. Each character has their own goals and story line, which is something I really love. It didn’t feel like they were just there to push the main characters objectives along.

I really enjoyed the way that, although this book does have romance and a relationship, it didn’t feel like the main point in the story. I felt like it was more about Tatum coming to terms with her new life and her growing up. I also thought that she and SK had a really awesome thing going on in the book. I never expected him to be who he actually was. (If you’ve read the book you’ll understand what I mean 😉)

Her stepmother and stepsister play important roles and I enjoyed their dynamic. I thought I knew where this story would go since it’s inspired by Cinderella, but there was so much more to this story and to Belén and Tilly than just the typical evil stepmother and sister. I really enjoyed getting to know more about them and their backgrounds as the story progressed.

Blanche was one of my favorite characters in It Started With Goodbye.  She brought a lot out of Tatum by challenging her thoughts concerning her goals and relationships. I really loved the way that she portrayed a “fairy godmother” but also let Tatum do her own thing.

Then all the new friendships that Tatum was able to make was pretty amazing as well. Abby, Hunter, the band, and even Tilly. I loved the way that Tatum let herself accept the people in her life that wanted to be there for her even though it was reluctantly at first. I do have to also admit that I would have been perfectly fine if Ash and Tatum never got back to being them. I almost felt as if she brought Tatum down and wasn’t really a true friend. Ash is one of the characters that play a major role, but  we don’t see or hear from her much at all. If there was one thing I’d change I think I’d want more on her.

This was a really beautiful coming of age story, the writing was amazing and heartfelt, and the whole story was genuinely moving. The characters were all so relatable and everything pieced together really well. I’d happily recommend this to anyone who loves contemporary or Cinderella retellings. I think that we all feel lonely sometimes just like Tatum, this was a perfect book to help you out of that feeling.

*I received a copy of It Started With Goodbye from Blink via NetGalley in return for my honest opinion. All opinions and thoughts are my own and are no way influenced by the publisher. Thank you Blink and NetGalley for letting me read and review!*

87% or 4.25 stars


Favorite Quote:

“Nothing in this summer had gone the way I imagines. But maybe it was supposed to be that way so I could turn the page and move onto a new, clean chapter in my story.”


Have you read It Started With Goodbye?

What were your thoughts?

What is your favorite Cinderella retelling?

Let me know below!

2 thoughts on “It Started With Goodbye by Christina June

Leave a Reply

