Reviews

Review: My Life Next Door by Huntley Fitzpatrick

Click here to read my review of My Life Next Door

12294652

My Life Next Door 

by Huntley Fitzpatrick

My rating: 92% (4.5 stars)

google+Amazon

Goodreads Summary:

“One thing my mother never knew, and would disapprove of most of all, was that I watched the Garretts. All the time.”

The Garretts are everything the Reeds are not. Loud, messy, affectionate. And every day from her rooftop perch, Samantha Reed wishes she was one of them . . . until one summer evening, Jase Garrett climbs up next to her and changes everything.

As the two fall fiercely for each other, stumbling through the awkwardness and awesomeness of first love, Jase’s family embraces Samantha – even as she keeps him a secret from her own. Then something unthinkable happens, and the bottom drops out of Samantha’s world. She’s suddenly faced with an impossible decision. Which perfect family will save her? Or is it time she saved herself?

A transporting debut about family, friendship, first romance, and how to be true to one person you love without betraying another.


Huntley Fitzpatrick’s debut novel has ALWAYS been one of my favorite YA contemporaries since it released. I can hardly believe it was her first novel! It has what I love when I read novels like this, all of the fluffy amazing cuteness that comes with reading contemporary. This one goes deeper than the average cutesy romance though.

My Life Next Door has some underlying issues. Jace and Samantha fall into some real world problems that could ultimately tear them apart.

While Samantha’s family is all about perfection, the Garretts are all about real life. Its almost like reading two different stories when you go from Samantha and her mother to Samantha with the Garretts. It was amazing to see Samantha navigating the crazy, dramatic world of the Garrett’s who took her in as if she was just another one of their children.

It had me laughing and crying at every turn of the page. Jace shows Samantha a side of life she never believed she could have. The more Samantha fell for him the more I did as well!

I believe that My Life Next Door is something that anyone could love. It earns a 92%, or 4.5 star, rating from me. My Life Next Door is my perfect contemporary and I cannot wait to read The Boy Most Likely To. 


Favorite Quote:

“You have to kiss me,” I find myself saying.
“Yeah.” He leans closer. “I do.”


Have you read My Life Next Door?

What were your thoughts?

Let me know below!

One thought on “Review: My Life Next Door by Huntley Fitzpatrick

Leave a Reply

